Den (astralden) wrote in download_cd,

Various Artists (2007) -Love Is The Song We Sing (San Francisco Nuggets 1965-1970)

Artist: various
Albums: Love Is The Song We Sing (San Francisco Nuggets 1965-1970)
Released: 2007
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 132 + 124 + 160 + 130 MB

Сорок лет назад толпы молодежи стремились в Сан Франциско, в знаменитый район Haight Asbury, эпицентр молодежной контркультурной революции. Самым главным наследием того места и той эпохи является музыка. Она многое может рассказать о Сан Франциско 60-х. Город буквально бурлил музыкальными талантами, со всех уголоков Америки сюда стекались молодые и дерзкие. Многие из них стали легендами, многие записали по одной-две песни и исчезли, но все они сделали свой вклад в целый пласт музыкальной культуры, который и сейчас еще полон неожиданностей и служит источником вдохновения. Очередная подборка от лэйбла Rhino, четыре диска радостей и красот. Наслаждайтесь! =))


Disc 1, “Seismic Rumbles,” maps the divergent fault lines separating the tradition pop flavors of the early 1960s from San Francisco's emerging bands that were inspired by the more complex rock and roll of The Beatles and Bob Dylan. Highlights include “Can't Come Down” from Dead precursors The Warlocks, the demo for Quicksilver Messenger Service's “Who Do You Love,” the earliest incarnation of the Airplane on “It's No Secret,” “I Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die Rag” from Country Joe & The Fish and “Mr. Jones (A Ballad Of A Thin Man)” from a prehistoric Grass Roots ensemble.

1. Let's Get Together - Dino Valenti
2. I Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die Rag - Country Joe & The Fish
3. You Were On My Mind - We Five
4. Number One - The Charlatans
5. Can't Come Down - The Warlocks
6. Don't Talk to Strangers - The Beau Brummels
7. Anything - The Vejtables
8. It's No Secret - Jefferson Airplane
9. Johnny Was a Good Boy - The Mystery Trend
10. Free Advice - The Great! Society
11. Mr. Jones (A Ballad Of a Thin Man) - The Grass Roots
12. Stranger In a Strange Land - Blackburn & Snow
13. Who Do You Love - Quicksilver Messenger Service
14. She's My Baby - The Mojo Men
15. Coffee Cup - The Wildflower
16. Live Your Own Life - The Family Tree
17. Fat City - The Sons Of Champlin
18. Human Monkey - The Frantics
19. Bye Bye Bye - The Tikis
20. Section 43 - Country Joe & The Fish
21. Hello Hello - The Sopwith 'Camel'

Disc 2, “Suburbia,” takes a trip to the nearby burgs of Berkeley, Sausalito, Sacramento, and San Jose to explore the garage, folk-rock, and musically-hybrid psychotic reactions to San Francisco's psychedelic stew. Stand-out tracks include Teddy & His Patches “Suzy Creamcheese,” The Chocolate Watchband's “No Way Out,” and Frumious Bandersnatch's “Hearts To Cry.”

1. Psychotic Reaction - Count Five
2. Got Love - The Front Line
3. Satisfaction Guaranteed - The Mourning Reign
4. Foolish Woman - The Oxford Circle
5. My Buddy Sin - The Stained Glass
6. Streetcar - The Otherside
7. Suzy Creamcheese - Teedy & His Patches
8. Rubiyat - The Immediate Family
9. Rumors - Syndicate Of Sound
10. Sometimes I Wonder - The Harbinger Complex
11. Want Ad Reader - The New Breed
12. I'm a Good Woman - The Generation
13. No Way Out - The Chocolate Watchband
14. Hey I'm Lost - Butch Engle & The Styx
15. I Love You - People
16. America - Public Nuisance
17. Fly To New York - Country Weather
18. Thing In 'E' - The Savage Resurrection
19. Hearts To Cry - Frumious Bandersnatch

Disc 3, “Summer Of Love,” celebrates the myriad riches of that era-defining season, featuring classics from iconic artists including Jefferson Airplane's “White Rabbit,” Santana's “Soul Sacrifice,” the Dead's “The Golden Road,” and Grace Slick and The Great! Society's “Somebody To Love.” Plus Moby Grape's “Omaha,” Blue Cheer's “Summertime Blues,” Sly & The Family Stone's “Underdog,” The Charlatans' “Alabama Bound” and the Steve Miller Band's “Roll With It.”

1. Alabama Bound - The Charlatans
2. Carl Street - The Mystery Trend
3. Somebody To Love - The Great! Society
4. Superbird - Country Joe & The Fish
5. Two Days 'Till Tomorrow - The Beau Brummels
6. Omaha - Moby Grape
7. Up & Down - The Serpent Power
8. The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion) - Grateful Dead
9. Codine - Quicksliver Messenger Service
10. Down On Me - Big Brother & The Holding Company
11. Think Twice - Salvation
12. White Rabbit - Jefferson Airplane
13. Roll With It - Steve Miller Band
14. Why Did You Put Me On - Notes From The Underground
15. Underdog - Sly & The Family Stone
16. Summertime Blues - Blue Cheer
17. Glue - The Ace Of Cups
18. Soul Sacrifice - Santana
19. The Bells - The Loading Zone

Disc 4, “The Man Can't Bust Our Music,” charts the visionary artistry and mind-blowing evolution of the maturing San Francisco sound - an epic musical wellspring that changed the course of rock and roll and gave birth to freeform FM radio. Stand-out tracks, among the greatest in 20th century rock, include Santana's “Evil Ways,” Janis' “Mercedes Benz,” “White Bird” from It's A Beautiful Day and the Dead's “Dark Star.”

1. Evil Ways - Santana
2. Red the Sign Post - Fifty Foot Hose
3. Lemonaide Kid - Kak
4. 1982-A - The Sons Of Champlin
5. How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away - Dan Hicks & His Hot Licks
6. Amphetamine Gazelle - Mad River
7. Quicksilver Girls - Steve Miller Band
8. Revolution - Mother Earth
9. Murder In My Heart For the Judge - Moby Grape
10. Light Your Windows - Quicksilver Messenger Service
11. I'm Drowning - Flamin' Grooves
12. Portrait Of the Artists As a Young Lady - Seatrain
13. White Bird - It's A Beautiful Day
14. Dark Star - Grateful Dead
15. Fool - Blue Cheer
16. Mexico - Jefferson Airplane
17. Mercedes Benz - Janis Joplin
18. Get Together - The Youngbloods





Tags: garage

  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened